Part 4

And the animating begins. Before animation, however…

To make the sets, I bought some turf in various different grass, earth and soil colors. I’m animating the graveyard scene first, so I’ve worked on that set first. My old graveyard (picture 1) didn’t work out to my favor, so I had to redo it. I had to kick my sister out of her room (sorry Nance!), since her room has no windows in it… perfect for stop motion animation!

First and foremost, I had to go to Home Depot to get some wood for my set. I buy the 8’x4′ piece, not realizing that it probably wouldn’t fit in my dinky Jetta. Long story short, I had to go back and have it resliced to fit in my car. I get it home and have to start turfing and flocking. I grab my friend and he starts helping me document the whole thing (thanks Eric)! I use some turf in colors green grass, soil, earth, and some other colors I can’t think of right now. It’s good to buy several sheets of the turf and use spray glue to keep everything on. Spray glue was my friend… and I think I had flocking and glue in my nose and lungs by the end of these days, but oh well!  

**Good tip: Next time, I’ll spray paint the wood a dark color as to have it covered before I use the turf. I’ve probably spent a few hundred dollars on turf alone.



I love you, spray glue.

So now I have to get into the business of sawing a few beams for my background sky. I’ve decided to use a cotton blue sheet and stapling it to some beams, then painting it over to get a beautiful sky.

Do not saw anything without protective gear or while wearing flats. Not recommended nor advised.

Do not drill indoors, either. Not wise.

Stapling the cotton on the boards.

Steaming the fabric to get all the wrinkles out.

Dance when you paint. I swear it’s soothing and calming!


Voila!

Leave a Reply

